Uganda nurses and midwives union’s first executive committee

The Uganda Nurses and Midwives Union (UNMU) completed it’s constitution in 2002 and by 2003 had registered with the National Organisation of Trade Unions (UNOTU).

To solidify it’s formation in it’s early yrs, an interim executive committee was elected by the members at the time to organise formal elections for new office bearers within 2yrs from 22nd November 2002.

The interim executive committee was comprised of:-

¥ Catherine Iwolu (National Chairperson)

¥ Nassuna Edith (General Secretary)

¥ Peligrio Mbabazi (Deputy General Secretary)

¥ Ursula Kizza (National Treasurer)

¥ Atim Joyce Lucy (Vice national treasurer)

¥ Bataringaya Patrick (Secretary for health and safety). Passed away November 2011.

¥ Achieng Florence (Secretary for gender)

¥ Mufumba Emmanuel (Organising Secretary)

¥ Mutabazi Jemimah (Secretary for research and ethics)

¥Otule J. Florence (Representative to NOTU)

¥ Black Zakayo Masereka (Vice Chairperson)

The interim was replaced UNMU’s first executive committee that was elected 19 Feb 2009. The executive committee composed of:-

¥ Janet D. Obuni (President)

¥ Bateganya S. Patrick (General Secretary)

¥ Rwabahima Florence (Vice president)

¥ Black Zakayo Masereka (Deputy General Secretsry)

¥ Atim Joyce Lucy (Treasurer)

¥ Catherine Iwolu (Representative to Labour centre)

¥ Amandu Gerald (Secretary for Research and Ethics)

¥ Cherop Justus (Secretary for Gender)

¥ Kabaliisa Theopista (Welfare)

How to whitelist website on AdBlocker?

How to whitelist website on AdBlocker?

  1. 1 Click on the AdBlock Plus icon on the top right corner of your browser
  2. 2 Click on "Enabled on this site" from the AdBlock Plus option
  3. 3 Refresh the page and start browsing the site